What I Love Wednesday: A Simple Christmas

If you’re reading this, chances are you have a kiddo under 5. Or maybe 4 kids under 5. If you’re anything like me, I love, love, love to watch the joy on my children’s faces when they open a present and find that wonderful surprise hidden inside! I tend to go a bit overboard when it comes to birthdays and Christmas. This idea was presented to me last year, after my first real Christmas with my daughter (real meaning she was awake for most of it).

It’s the idea of giving 4 gifts, each one categorized in one of the four categories : Want, Need, Wear, Read. I LOVED it, simply because it helped me to focus. But then I hated it, because it kept me from not focusing! It’s SO fun to wake up on Black Friday and just “GO!”, only fully understanding the damage in the hours after you’ve returned home and caught up on the sleep you missed at 3am. AH …. so, I’ve made a comprise to share with you!

It’s called : Want, Need, Wear, Read, Play, Dream, Create, Learn. Basically, its organizing and budgeting what you want to buy, and THEN adding the category! LOVE IT! It helps to organize and plan, but still have the fun of splurging on these little ones!!! And the great thing is you can change them by the year, or as they get older and their wants/needs, etc get more expensive, you can have them select which categories or draw from a hat, or if a larger family is drawing names, to choose a category. LOVE IT!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

